02:39
Villa Follio I suggest you discover the Villa Folio. The Villa Folio is a magnificent Creole house located in the heart of the village of Elbourg. It reflects the Creole way of living in the highlands of the island. It's an iconic and must-visit site for visitors who want to discover the culture of Réunion.
03:13
L'îlot - Petite-île The commune of Petite-Île gets its name because there is actually a small island located just opposite the viewpoint of Piton-Grand-Anse.
02:01
Maloya Le Maloya, a song, a music, and a dance. Maloya is both a profane or sacred song, in Creole or language, in a minor mode. It is said to be the pentatonic scale.
04:27
Domaine des Colimaçons - Mascarin I will talk to you about the agricultural estate of the Châteauvieux family in the heights of Saint-Leu on the Colimaçons estate.
03:26
Plaine des Grègues Plaine des Grègues is the name of a Creole village located in the highlands of the commune of Saint-Joseph.
03:36
La Glaciere The Glacière is especially known by hikers as a site of natural and geological discovery.
02:04
Grand Etang Grand Etang is located in the municipality of Saint-Benoît, at an altitude of 500 meters, it is a beautiful place surrounded by green cliffs. It offers a landscape reminiscent of the Jurassic era with many tree ferns and large tropical trees. In the distance, you can see the majestic waterfalls of the Bras d'Annette...
01:45
Salt Museum The salt museum is located at Pointe au Sel, at the southern exit of the commune of Saint-Leu.
01:24
The State's Garden At the beginning of colonisation, commanders of the India Company created, on the rampart of the Saint-Denis's River, a garden for naturalisation of foreign plants imported to Bourbon. Following the dissolution of the India Company, the garden became the property of the State and received the name King's Garden. However, considered too distant, with a difficult and often flooded access in Summer, this garden was transferred by the authorising officer to the heights of Saint-Denis in 1767...
01:00
The bishopric The episcopal residence was first located in the rue Félix Guyon. Later on, it was transferred to the hotel that Mr. Gutave Manès built in 1846 and that houses the Musée Léon-Dierx today.
01:46
Leon Dierx Museum Before becoming a museum, this building was the urban residency of notables of the colony in the 19th century. In 1843, the plot became the property of Gustave Manès, mayor of Saint-Denis. He was the one who built a residential house on the site, with a stone façade in contrast with the rest of the building in wood.
00:34
The Arthoteque The house was built probably between 1843 and 1858 by Paul Auguste Fraignault. Often known under the name the Villa Mancini or Maion Mas, this building was successively the property of several families until it was bought by the General Council in 1985 to be turned into an artothèque...
02:11
The Department Villa The architecture of the Villa du Département highlights a very important step in the history of the local habitat. It is a landmark confirming the transition between the Compagnie des Indes' style of the 18th century and the neoclassicism of the 19th century.
00:54
The Déramond Barre house First big middle-class home in this rue de Paris, the Villa Déramond, where two important personaliities were born. In 1838, Léon Dierx was born in his grandfather's house, Victor Gaspard-Delheaulme. He would be recognised as Poètes in 1898.
00:44
The old town hall of Saint-Denis Built from 1846 to 1861, this square with a side of 37 meters will be used as Hôtel de Ville until the end of the 1970s. Becoming too small, they decide to build a more modern building in the shape of a pyramid, situated at the back of the Ancien Hôtel de Ville.
00:36
Monuments aux Morts in Saint-Denis Built in 1923, to the glory of the Dionysiens, who died for France during the first World War. A monument brought back to Réunion Island by ship, 63 parcels of 44 tons. A box, sealed in 1941, contained...
00:40
Saint-Denis Saint-Denis started to become populated since 1669, when the first commander of the island, Etienne Régnault, transferred residence from Saint-Paul...
04:05
The road to Cilaos The Cirque of Cilaos is considered today as a true mountain resort inside Réunion Island.
03:24
Etang Saint-Paul on the pirate circuit Saint-Paul’s Pond is a really important site in the history of Réunion Island since it was the first district of the island that was formed close to this shore.
02:40
2007 lava flow Between Saint-Philippe and Saint-Rose, there is a space that has long been called the Burnt Country.
02:35
The Cathedral of Saint-Denis It is by strolling in the historic centre of the capital city of Réunion Island that we can observe the cathedral of Saint-Denis.
04:58
The History of the Port Long before the construction of the airports of Roland-Garros in Saint-Denis and of Pierrefonds in Saint-Pierre, many travellers arrived in Réunion Island by docking at the municipality of Le Port.
03:19
The Bel Air Lighthouse The Bel Air lighthouse is the first lighthouse of Réunion Island. It measures 20,25 meters high, but rises to a height of 45,82 meters above sea level since it was built on top of a cliff. It was once possible to reach the summit of the building, by following the 73 steps in wood. Therefore, we could reach the chemin de ronde and the lense device. Long ago, the lantern was powered by oil and petroleum.